Stuck in the Denver Airport…

…waiting to see if the plane can be “fixed”

SusanCaba
The Resale Evangelista

A man’s real life is that accorded to him in the thoughts of other men, by reason of respect or natural love. 
Joseph Conrad 
My friend Mike received an email chain-letter (remember those?) which was kind of interesting. So, rather than sending it right to spam, he followed the instructions, which were:
Send an favorite religious/spiritual text/verse/motivational poem/prayer/meditation that has lifted you when you were experiencing challenging times.
What, you may be asking, does this have to do with resale or creating a simple, artful life? Stick with me: A good quote is like a pre-owned car–properly used (and attributed), you can still get a lot of mileage out of it.
Here’s what Mike came up with:
“I have a huge collection of quotes I’ve gathered over the years, and it was fun to read through them in this context.
“Conrad’s quotes are almost always dark, and most of them inappropriate. I was tempted with “Facing it, always facing it, that’s the way to get through. Face it,”  though oddly, I’m not sure I believe that anymore.
“I often reflect on The belief in a supernatural source of evil is not necessary; men alone are quite capable of every wickedness,”  though it is arguably an anti-spiritual thought; though constructive, it is with difficulty described as uplifting. 
“I didn’t even bother looking at the Samuel Clemens quotes. The thoughts of Samuel Johnson (lexicographer, 1709-1784), while especially insightful and wise, were also rarely “spiritual” though I can say"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good" often crosses my mind.”
Good quotes are truisms that haven’t become clichés. I use them like exclamation points in my writing. (Mike sent me the quotes he used, but here’s a site I like: Brainy Quote.)

It’s like using a thesaurus–you actually have to know the nuances of the words you are perusing, in order to select the perfect option. I think of a thesaurus as a mind-jog: “Oh yeah, that’s the word that’s escaping me.”
Using quotes judiciously is similar. You really have to know the sentiment you want to express. A quote that sums it up in a pithy way reinforces your message and adds another voice to your writing. If you use quotes properly, they are the condiments that enhance the flavor of your concoction.
As for the chain-letter challenge, I received Mike’s email in about third or fourth hour of a wait in the Denver airport, while the plane was being “fixed.” At that moment, the best I could muster was: “This, too, shall pass.”

 

Want to get a quote a day? There are several sources, but here’s one I like: Wiser One’ Quotes.

 

One thought on “Stuck in the Denver Airport…

  1. Lisa Tracy

    When I was a freshman in high school, I played Gladys in “The Skin of Our Teeth.” In the third act, I think it is, Wilder has philosophers appear to someone in the family in a sort of dream state … it’s actually pretty surreal, now that I think about it, but I was completely captivated by Spinoza at that point, and inscribed these words on the front of my school notebook: “After experience had taught me that the common occurrences of daily life are vain and futile; and I saw that all the objects of my desire and fear were in themselves nothing, save only insofar as the mind was affected by them; I at length determined to seek out whether there was something truly good and communicable to man.” And that one has stayed with me, sometimes in fragmentary form, ever since. I’ll try to post it. THANKS for sharing such a great mental exercise, even whilst stuck in an airport!

    _____

    Like

    Reply

Thoughts? Leave a Comment!

